Sew beautiful …

My New York editor (oh, how I love those words), Siobhan, sent me this wonderful link to a short segment from an American radio show. It’s all about the ‘petites mains’ – the women who work on lace and embroidery for haute couture dresses at the House of Lesage in Paris.

I love the idea of these amazing people still working at their craft, like something out of the nineteenth century. For a long time, I’ve wanted to write a rom-com about one of them, who takes a piece of lace to LA and ends up creating a famous dress for the Oscars. Except, of course, I did a bit of that already in Threads. And I wrote about them some more in Beads Boys & Bangles.

Anyway, if you want to hear them actually talk, you can do it here. And if you go on the link, you can also see a piece about someone who quilts Heavy Metal bedspreads. Yes, really. They look astonishing. The things people do …

About sophiabennett

I drink too much cappuccino, love arty stuff, want to save the world and write books for teens. Type of thing.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

