Competition time!

Exams are over in the Chatham household. The sun is shining. Glastonbury is on TV. Mum has bought in a value pack of pink lemonade. It’s time to celebrate.

How? you ask. Well, simple. I have a felt badge-making kit to give away to a lucky reader. Could be for you. Could be a present for someone you love. All you have to do is comment on this post, and tell me your favourite book and/or movie so far this summer. But you need to do it SOOOOOON!!!! I’ll pick the winner out of a hat on Friday, 2 July.

Good luck and happy-nearly-holidays! nonie xxx

About noniexxx

I live in Kensington and love fashion. My best friends are Jenny (actress), Edie (saving the world) and Crow (genius designer - OMG). I narrate the Threads series by Sophia Bennett. Some people think I'm a figment of her imagination. I think she's a figment of mine.
This entry was posted in Competition. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Competition time!

  1. Amber Kirk says:

    Loving your blog, Nonie! Anyway, my name’s Amber and my fave book this summer is Swapped By a Kiss by Luisa Plaja – my fave movie is Wild Child. :O) Cool giveaway!

    Good luck to everyone else who enters.

    Amber x

  2. Kate says:

    Hi Nonie! My favourite book so far this summer is either The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank (beautiful) or Beads, Boys & Bangles by Sophia Bennett (do you know her? I’m sure you do – she’s a big fan) and favourite movie has to be The Young Victoria (oh those costumes…)🙂 x

  3. rachel says:

    I love art and craft so would be very happy if i won the competition. I love competitions!!!! My favourite movie so far this summer is Letters to Juliet-I went to watch it at the pictures. My fave book this summer is well- I love Beads,Boys and Bangles but I also love Teen of Queen.

  4. rachel says:

    sorry! in the last comment I meant Queen of Teen, not Teen of Queen!

  5. Miaa says:

    Nonie, Nonie, Nonie: I love, love, love your new blog and, of course, I love both “Threads” and “Beads, Boys and Bangles”. I would in fact call these two books my two favourite books this summer so far, but since I am on your blog, I’ll recommend two other awesome reads:
    “Carpe Diem” by Autumn Cornwell
    It’s about this Edie-type-of-straight-A-student. The girl’s first name is Vassar and her parents have planned since her birth that she should go to college that she’s named after. Vassar couldn’t be happier- she thinks because her life is in perfect order until the day her world-travelling, artsy grandma drops by and takes her to Malaysia for the summer. Suddenly Vassar finds herself on this crazy, chaotic trip. She thinks she can’t become more miserable with this unwanted adventure until she meets the tour guide her grandma has booked for them- a quite good-looking Asian cowboy. And things start to look differently… This is the perfect book for armchair-travellers, because you feel like you see all the places and people that Vassar encounters. Also a good beach read and summer book. I loved it. And I really had to laugh out loud at times, plus the ending is unexpected.

    Second book is more serious but a real page-turner:
    “Unwind” by Neal Shusterman
    This book is set in the future in the USA when after a second civil war about simply one issue – abortion – new society rules has been established. No abortions are allowed but parents have the right to “unwind” a child between the ages of 13 and 18. That means parents can get rid off their child. The teenagers will only sort of die. Their body parts will be donated to sick patients, so that technically life itself will not be ended. Yeah I know, this concept sounds like an insane and a odd read but it’s sooo exciting to read and though provoking. If you are interested in the hypocritical, illogical thinking of a certain type of ultra conservatives, this is really good.

    I haven’t seen that many movies yet. I am waiting to watch Shrek and then Eclipse . I have seen “Sex and the City 2”, but that was sort of a disappointment. It’s ok but nothing else. The TV Show was so good and the new movie was nothing special, sadly.

  6. rebecca says:

    hey nonie. my favourite book that I read this summer is ” Threads”. I really love it, beacuse it really rappresents me and my friend. me and my friend love fashion and designing dresses. we will like to be actress or be designers. I really think your book is fantastic. well my favourite film is ” I Maghy Di Waverly the Movie” it was really fun . There are due brothers and one sister. She’s called Alex. They go in a island and Alex falls in love with a boy. He invites her to a party but her mother doesn’t let her go. Alex and her brothers are magic. So when her mother says she can’t go to the party and so alex says ” I never wanted that u and dad married!” and so for misatke she waves her wand and makes it all happen.The time goes back to when her mother and father don’t still know eachother. So Alex and her brothers have to try to get a magic stone to solve the problem. Meanwhile her little brother is dissolving and afterwards even Alex will so her brother and Alex are fighting against time.

  7. Nicole says:

    Right. Well. Hmmm. Aaaah. Ooooh. Haaah.

    Sorry about that ooing and aahing up there…it’s just I’m a total book worm so I have- well I won’t tell you, the number is too sad- LOADS, let’s just say, of favourite books.
    And films.
    But my FAVOURITE book in the history of favouritism on favourite island in favourite world is (drum roll pleeaaase)…The Book Thief by Markus Zusak! Congrats, marky, my pal! Please don’t be offended Sophia/ Nonie- of course I love YOUR series as well. And I know The Book Thief isn’t exactly summery. I mean, the caption on the front- When Death tells a story you really have to listen- doesn’t exactly make you think of bikinis and sun tan lotion, but, hey… Anyways, it’s set in the 2nd world war (the main charactar is a german orphan), and yep, you guessed it, it has a book thief in it. This is meant to be a COMMENT so I won’t go into a LOT of detail…All I can say is that it made me cry loads, and it was told in such a vivid passionate way (that is, if Death can be passionate) that you are suuuuuuucked in straight away. Spooky. Well, no, not really, it’s just good writing actually.
    And my fave film is Prince Caspian. Yeah yeah I KNOW it’s for little kids, but I love the books. When I was little I loved them, I mean. Well. ANYWAY, I also love love love love it because you know that AMAZING song when the credits go down???? Well it’s by Regina Spektor and that’s how I discovered her. Look up Samson by Regina Spektor on youtube- and Nonie/ Sophia this part is for you: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE LET HARRY PLAY HER MUSIC AT A FASHION SHOW FOR CROW OR SOMETHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Oh and I love Toy Story as well.
    Well. That’s it really…by the way, this is an entry for the competition…

  8. Abigail says:

    Hi Nonie! Your blog is epic! My favourite book so far this summer has got to be ‘I Heart Hollywood’ as I would love to go to L.A one day, and the fashion in it is amazing! My favourite film would have to be either ‘Sex and the city 2’ or Letter to Juliet – both are equally fab and cheery. I would love to win, but good luck to everyone!

    Abi xxx❤

  9. Lois :) says:

    Heyy Nonie!
    my fave book this summer At The Moment(becuase i read so much im always changing by mind🙂 ) Anyway my fave book At The Moment is Evermore by Alyson Noel I chose it because its the first of its type i have read because before i would just stick to a type of book but now i have branched out and tryed this book and i love it!!!
    At The Moment i dont have a fave movie😦 !!
    oh and by the way my mum went into BHS yesterday and saw the tammy edition of Threads and bought it for me because Guess What!!? On The front was the dress i bought and wore for a wedding !!!! i was really chuffed at that!!!
    oh and i love designing dresses and in the back there was that competittion but i looked on here and couldn’t see it so i think im tooo late😥
    anyway byee!!
    Love Lois xx

  10. Madison says:

    Hi Nonie, I think your website is great! I would really love to win this competition, as I have never won any competition before!🙂
    My favourite book that I have read this summer is The White Giraffe by Lauren St John. The book is about a girl called Martine who has to go and live in Africa after her parents die in a fire. She has to live with her grandmother in a game reserve who doesn’t like her and has lots of rules. Her grandmother’s friend tells her a story about the Legend of the White Giraffe. Martine’s bedroom is right next to the reserve’s water hole. Will she get a chance to see the White Giraffe? – You’ll have to find out for yourself!! I love this book because it is very exciting and a real page-turner. It is not difficult to read and I think that you should definitely try it!! Oh, and I also love Threads and Beads, Boys and Bangles!
    My favourite film that I have watched this summer… hmmm… it’s not a new film but I think that ‘Up’ is really good! It is about a boy called Carl who wants to be a wilderness explorer, and visit Paradise Falls. He never gets the chance during his life, but when he is an old man, he decides to tie balloons to his house and fly there! It gets really exciting when he gets to meet his childhood hero, but he’s not exactly what Carl imagined him to be like! This is great family film with some really funny parts!

  11. Kate W says:

    Hi Nonie, your website is Fantastic!-(underlined and in bold!!!)
    It would mean loads for me to win this competition as I have been asking for a badge machine every christmas and birthday, but I have never got one- plus I am a MAJOR FAN!
    Anyway, my favourite book that I have read this summer is The Star of Kazan, by Eva Ibbottson. It is about an adopted Austrian girl who was found, wrapped in a blanket in a church, and was taken in by two nice servant girls. They decide to call her Annika.
    Annika always dreams that her mother will come one day, in her fur coat and dressed beautifully and elegantly, and sweep her into her arms telling her how happy she was to find her.
    Until one day, a mysterious lady is standing in the drawing room of the house, wearing a fur coat and dressed beautifully. Does Annika want to leave all her friends behind and go with this lady, her mother?
    Lets move on… my fave film!
    It’s difficult to choose, but I have to go with ‘Cloudy with a chance of meatballs’!
    This is such a fun, exciting film- a little crazy too!!
    It’s about this mad proffessor, who tries to make food fall from the sky! Except it works for a bit, then all goes wrong!! It’s hilarious!

  12. Jo says:

    Hi Nonie!
    The website is great!
    My favourite book this summer would have to be The Goose Girl! It is really good and it was such a page turner!
    My favourite film this summer has to be Mamma Mia! I love the music and the beautiful scenery! It’s so funny!

  13. Nicola says:

    Hi Nonie,

    Love the blog🙂

    My favourite book at the moment is Hello Cupcake, by Karen Tack and Alan Richardson (http://www.urbanoutfitters.co.uk/Hello-Cupcake/invt/5620402312218&bklist=icat,6,shop,home,homecategories,books,fooddrinkbooks). I’ve spent the last two weeks since buying it making all sorts of cute animal cakes! My friends are loving all the yummy cakes I keep bringing round!

    Best wishes

    Nicola

  14. rebecca says:

    SOphie when are u going to announce the winner…. and another thing if u don’t accept that to talk about yor books, well I choose: my sister is a popstar. it talks about to sisters one is a normal girl.. and the other one is a famous popstar. he sister Dani coems home after her long tour. her sister thinks that all will go back to normal.. but thats never gone happen. a truop coems over the new house of the popastar and gher family to film her life. but the sister of Dani doesn’t like it… but after applies herself with her new life!

  15. rebecca says:

    Nonie I have an idea for a new competition…. if you want to hear about it…. just put a comment under here…. Thanks

  16. rebecca says:

    Well i sended them throught email,but i think there had been a problem! well
    1. U could have a competition were girls have tio design a dress for Jenny to put to the oscars.
    2. they have to invent a story based on threads and its charecters, and that could be and idea for your next book
    3. Last but not least , they have to describe NEW Crow the same in the story but with something new!
    If you like my ideas for this competition PLEASEEE can u say yes under … THanks

    Becky

    • Hi Rebecca

      Funnily enough, I already have run a competition for someone to design an outfit to appear in book 3, and you’ll be able to read the result when it comes out in 2011. So, great idea! I like the idea of a story based on the book and characters, too. Maybe that can be the next competition in the summer …. Thank you for thinking of it.

      sophia xxx

  17. rebecca says:

    OOW and about hte 2 one a little story!

  18. Rebecca says:

    Well, thanks just to start. I was just thinking for the first idea, just for fun or a new dress that Jenny coukld wear in the book, well described becuse there are no immages, THIS was my idea…. well I really hope to see the next book, and how it was the dress?

  19. Laura says:

    Hey Nonie!!
    My favourite movie this summer is Moulin Rouge! the story of a young writer who has come to Paris in the Bohemian revolution and meets a courtesan bound to a despicable duke, but when Satine mistakes Christian for the duke, they fall in love and when Satine finds out that he is a penniless writer, she tell him to go but she realises she loves him in return. They declare their love only to have it stolen away from them when Satine dies from consumption in Christian’s arms onstage.
    It is the best drama/romance/musical ever and all the music arangements are amazing!!

    My fave book this Summer is I Was Jane Austen’s Best Friend by Cora Harrison. It is about Jenny Cooper, Jane Austen’s cousin and her fight to save her cousin from the fever but as she does, she meets Cpt. Thomas Williams and begs him not to tell anyone of her presence in Southhampton at midnight or her reputation will be ruined. When Jenny goes to live with the Austens, she thinks her night in Southhampton will be forgotten, a familiar face turns up and is wrongly blamed for something that would ruin Jenny’s life. -A really sad, romantic, interesting book for Summer!! (and the cover artwork is georgous aswell!!)

    I cant wait for the next Threads book comes out and i cant wait to know how Crow’s White Light collection has fared and what happened to Lakshmi and all the other little children in Mumbai factories.

    Laura xo

  20. Laura says:

    Lol i just realised the competition was closed last month!! :L Aw well!!

  21. noniexxx says:

    Hi Laura – Thanks for the stories about Moulin Rouge and I Was Jane Austen’s Best Friend (cool title!). Sorry it was too late for the comp, but maybe next time. And yes, when the new book comes out, you’ll find out what happened to Lakshmi and Crow’s collection. Sneak title preview: it’s going to be called Sequins, Stars and Spotlights (I think). It’s out in the New Year – eek! xxx

  22. Laura says:

    Hey nonie! I actually cant wait now for the new book now that i know when its coming out (roughly!!) I would go for that title cuz its a..em..alliteration! I couldnt think there what it was called so i Googled it lol😀 nd it just sounds cool anyways! Laura xx

Leave a Reply

