Books, books, books (part 1)

What are you reading at the moment?

I can’t decide. There are so many good books out there. Actually, most of them seem to be in my bedroom, in piles. Some of the ones I’ve enjoyed recently (in between the Vogues and Grazias) are …

The Queen of Teen book of short stories. It’s full of stories by lots of my favourite writers, from Meg Cabot to Sarra Manning, and it’s guaranteed to make you laugh. Plus some of the money goes to The Kids Company. As anyone who knows me will know, I like things that are fun and also help people out. Oh, and if you haven’t voted for your Queen of Teen yet, vote here, and vote now.

The Truth About Forever, by Sarah Dessen – I read this a while ago, and loved it. Especially the sculptures. And the weird catalogue stuff that keeps arriving through the post. Macy Queen is coping after her father died suddenly. Coping too well, in my opinion. You can tell by the way her boyfriend packs his bag in the first chapter that something has to change. And it does, thank goodness. Sarah Dessen is really good at describing summers.

Amy Green, Teen Agony Queen: Boy Trouble and Amy Green…: Summer Secrets, by Sarah Webb – Amy has some great adventures, a lot of laughs and gives some good advice. I love the bits about Ireland and can just imagine myself on holiday there. And Amy’s aunt Clover, the sassy young writer for Goss magazine who drives a Mini Cooper, is the aunt you definitely want to have. OK, the aunt I definitely want to have.

How I Live Now, by Meg Rosoff – Warning: this book is very extremely sad. It is so beautiful, and the characters are so precious you want to wrap them up and look after them. But there’s a war on. They start off living in their own little world, but it can’t last forever. The war comes closer. They have to look after themselves, and each other, and that’s not always easy …

Angel Cake, by Cathy Cassidy – He-llo? This is a book with lots of cake in it! That can’t be bad. And lots of Polish traditions, which I liked learning about. And a cute boy, and a girl who knew an awful lot more than she was saying, which made me curious about her. And did I mention the cake? Cathy Cassidy explains that the book was inspired by a real Polish girl she met at a signing. How cool is that? Maybe if I meet an author one day, she’ll write about me …

There are more books in my ‘to read’ pile. I’ll tell you about those very soon. Watch this space.

About noniexxx

I live in Kensington and love fashion. My best friends are Jenny (actress), Edie (saving the world) and Crow (genius designer - OMG). I narrate the Threads series by Sophia Bennett. Some people think I'm a figment of her imagination. I think she's a figment of mine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

