Books, books, books (part 2)

So I’ve already told you about some of the books I’ve enjoyed. Here are some from my pile of books to read soon. Wish me luck with them! And let me know what yours are. If I get bored, or get through them too quickly, I can try your suggestions out too.

I have to admit I go largely by the cover, whether my friends liked it and whether it suits my mood – which is currently a bit of light reading after ALL THOSE EXAMS THEY JUST MADE US DO. So I can’t guarantee these are good, but they look as if they will be. Fingers crossed.

The Summer I Turned Pretty, by Jenny Han – Great title. Liking the cover, with all those blue flowers on it. Sounds interesting. ‘The summer I turned into someone who could draw properly and found myself a decent job in the fashion industry’ would be an even better title, but this will do for now.

Twenty Boy Summer, by Sarah Ockler – This sounded a bit shocking at first. I mean, the One Boy Summer would be a major achievement in the Chatham household. But the blurb suggests it’s more complicated than just finding multiple boyfriends. And it says that the one boy she really liked has already died. And he was her friend’s brother, but it was a secret … OMG. I have to know more.

Million Dollar Mates by Cathy Hopkins – Jess Hall moves into a superstar apartment block in Knightsbridge and is suddenly surrounded by movie star types. Well, that’s just round the corner from me in Kensington, and I know a girl (Jenny) who’s been snogged by Hollywood’s New Teenage Sex God, so it will probably be like reading Jenny’s diary, but hopefully without quite so much obsessing about her spots and boobs. Although I’m guessing Jess has problems of her own. Those superstar apartment blocks are no picnic.

Cherry Crush by Cathy Cassidy – OK, so this book isn’t out yet (it comes out in September), so it’s not actually in my pile yet, but it will be. It’s about a girl who joins a family of stepsisters and I totally identify with the complicated families bit. Drawing my family tree practically takes an afternoon. Cherry is half Japanese and sounds really interesting. So do her stepsisters. But best of all is Shay, the boy with the sea-green eyes who smells of the ocean. I definitely want to read about him …

About noniexxx

I live in Kensington and love fashion. My best friends are Jenny (actress), Edie (saving the world) and Crow (genius designer - OMG). I narrate the Threads series by Sophia Bennett. Some people think I'm a figment of her imagination. I think she's a figment of mine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Books, books, books (part 2)

  1. Kate says:

    Nonie you are not just my style icon (though, you might be happy to know, I have not the guts to pull off anything from your wardrobe) but my book icon too! I have read the first book, The Summer I Turned Pretty, and it is amazing. Your book taste wows me more then your ‘alluring’ silver leggings (OK, maybe not as much). Thanks for sharing your advice on the best summer reads! K x

  2. Gracie says:

    cherry crush has come out in brisbane and is amazzzzzzzzzing
    nonie you rock
    ps for book week dress up day I went as you!
    Gracie

  3. Gracie says:

    also shay is soooooooooooooooooooo cool

Leave a Reply

