Oh look – pretty

This book costs £100. Yes, you read that right. One hundred of your finest pounds. For something you can otherwise get for about £6. Or 50p in a charity shop. But it is sooooooooooooooooo beautiful.

The yay things about it:

  • It’s The Secret Garden. One of my favourite stories. Ever.
  • The cover has 3 or 4 layers of trees. You open them one by one and they gradually reveal a girl and a key. How cute is that? I actually gasped out loud when I saw it in my local bookshop.
  • It’s drawn by Lauren Child, so the girl in the garden looks like Lola, or Clarice Bean. Super cute.
  • The pages are grass green. There is nothing, but nothing, so lovely as reading about a secret garden on grass green pages. Want want want want want.

The ew things about it:

  • The price. Did I mention that? £100. Sheesh.
  • The Perspex box-type thing it comes in. This is lovely in itself, but suggests that the book is a Precious Object, to be put on a shelf and Admired, not taken down and read. Bad. Books are for reading, not putting on a shelf in a box and admiring. If you don’t believe me, see Toy Story 2. It will explain everything.
  • There are only 1000 of them. This is kind of cool, in a limited edition sort of way (basically, it’s a limited edition). But there are only 1000 of them, and they are soooooooooooooooooo beautiful. Did I say that already?

It’s produced by Puffin, to help celebrate their 70th birthday. Happy Birthday Puffin, but … sheesh.

About noniexxx

I live in Kensington and love fashion. My best friends are Jenny (actress), Edie (saving the world) and Crow (genius designer - OMG). I narrate the Threads series by Sophia Bennett. Some people think I'm a figment of her imagination. I think she's a figment of mine.
This entry was posted in Fashion. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh look – pretty

  1. This is unbelievable! I loved this book when I was little.

  2. Laura says:

    Amazing.🙂

Leave a Reply

