X – Ew

I normally do yays, not ews. Ews don’t come naturally to me – I’m a yay sort of person. But something has been bugging me recently, and it’s this.

In every celeb magazine I *coughs with embarrassment* read, there’s news about how X-Factor contestants are meeting the England team, or in the front row of a fashion show, or meeting the Harry Potter stars, or in some other way leading the high life.

THIS IS NOT WHAT MAKING MUSIC IS ABOUT, PEOPLE! It’s not what making art’s about, or making fashion. It’s not what Crow spends her life doing, because she’s too busy ACTUALLY MAKING CLOTHES to be out every night.

We like Ellie Goulding. We adore her gorgeous Elton John with attitude vocals on the John Lewis ad. They just make us want to curl up under a warm blanket with all our favourite people and be happy at Christmas. She’s storming the charts and she’s being the dream. But whenever we read about her, it’s because she’s on stage, performing. Not because she’s in a club, or rubbing shoulders with other celebs. She can do that later, if she likes. She’ll have earned it.

We love all the X-Factor people … on the X-Factor. We’re particular fans of Matt, Rebecca and One Direction. They’re talented and wonderful and working hard and getting better. What we resent is the idea that they’re doing this so they can get snapped by the paparazzi. If they’re real about their music, they won’t have time for any of that. And it won’t give them any joy. Joy is people loving your record, and wanting it, and buying it, and coming to hear you sing in person, and living special moments in their lives along to your songs. We wish the X-Factor show would show that side of their lives.

Trust me, people. I’ve been there. It’s about the opportunities and the work and the connecting with people who love what you do. The people who are going to be mega-successful are the ones you don’t see at parties, because they have better things to do.

I have seams to finish. Crow’s letting me, because I haven’t ruined anything recently. You’ll see them on the girls at parties, but we won’t be there, because we’ll be making more. ‘Night night.

About noniexxx

I live in Kensington and love fashion. My best friends are Jenny (actress), Edie (saving the world) and Crow (genius designer - OMG). I narrate the Threads series by Sophia Bennett. Some people think I'm a figment of her imagination. I think she's a figment of mine.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to X – Ew

  1. (:Peace:) says:

    la la la la la
    Ellie Goulding is totally awesome๐Ÿ™‚
    I hear what your saying Nonie, I really do!!!๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Scotch Rebelle says:

    Mmmhmm….
    I get where you’re coming from Nonie. And I agree!!!๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

