Competition time – 200 projects

First of all, thank you to all of you who sent me pictures of great potential wedding dresses for the ‘That dress‘ post. They were amazing. You rock.

Now, I think you deserve a little something to celebrate it being the new year, and the fact that my final account of our adventures, Sequins, Stars and Spotlights, comes out in a month.

There will be two or three competitions in the next few weeks, so keep watching this space. First of all, there’s a chance for all the aspiring designers out there. The prize is a book called 200 projects to get you into fashion design. It’s full of ideas and things you can do to start being creative with making clothes.

The lucky winner will also get an advance copy of ‘Sequins, Stars and Spotlights’, so you can be the first to find out what we all got up to after our adventures in India, who my brother Harry proposed to, and whether Edie ever managed to achieve any kind of dress sense.


To enter, you have to go to Sophia’s website and click on this page. Send your answers to the questions below via the form. Don’t send them on a comment to this post, or everyone will know them!

You must send your answers by Friday, 14 January. That’s 10 days’ time from now. I’ll announce the winner on Saturday, 15 January. If there are lots of correct answers, I’ll pick the winner out of a hat.

OK, here are the questions. They follow a couple of themes of the book: royalty (Jenny gets a bit carried away) and weddings (not my favourite subject for a while). Only serious design freaks need apply.

  1. Which historical event led to brides traditionally wearing white?
  2. Who designed The Queen’s wedding dress in 1947?
  3. Who designed Bianca Jagger’s wedding suit when she married Mick Jagger in 1971? (Clue: beware the internet. Have a look at the comment below.)
  4. Which supermodel married comedian and writer David Walliams in 2010, and who made her gold wedding dress?
  5. Which designers/shops did Kate Middleton get her outfits from for the photos of the announcement of her engagement, and the formal pictures with Prince William later?

Good luck! Have fun. And don’t forget, if you win, I’ll be asking you for your address so I can send you the prize. But for now, all I need is your email address on the form. And the answers, of course. xxx

About noniexxx

I live in Kensington and love fashion. My best friends are Jenny (actress), Edie (saving the world) and Crow (genius designer - OMG). I narrate the Threads series by Sophia Bennett. Some people think I'm a figment of her imagination. I think she's a figment of mine.
This entry was posted in Competition, Fashion, Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Competition time – 200 projects

  1. Thanks for your entries so far. Fantastic! One clue: don’t always believe the internet. But if you look hard enough, you’ll find an article where Bianca Jagger describes who made her wedding outfit. That’s what Nonie *coughs* and I will be taking as our most reliable source when we judge the competition. xxx

  2. Kate says:

    Nonie, I somehow can’t submit my form to the link on Sophia’s blog (something to do with the code) so can I sent it via the Threads website instead? A little red notice comes up every time I enter the correct code.🙂
    Kate x

  3. Iffath says:

    Nooooo! I forgot to enter! Don’t have enough time now..😦 Need to know who Harry proposes too! He’s ten kinds of awesome❤

Leave a Reply

