Window dressing

In the new book, I spend quite a lot of time wondering what my favourite job in fashion would be. There are so many, but I never considered the job of window dresser for Harvey Nicks. This is what made Mary Portas famous. When it’s done brilliantly, it’s an art form in its own right. And in the windows of Harvey Nicks in Edinburgh, it’s done brilliantly right now.

Take a look.

This one’s made out of pencils. Kind of creepy, kind of fabulous.

Clothes pegs – what else? I don’t know how many were used, but I do know Crow is already imagining how she can make a wearable dress that looks like this.

Tiny little plastic horses. I guess people usually buy them in twos and threes – but someone must have ordered thousands to make this window. I bet the makers were happy when the order came in. “What do you need them for?” “We need them to make a Ferrari in a shop window.” “OK, fine.”

Books and fashion, and a stressed-out girl tearing her hair out. I think that might be me!

Love.

xxx

About noniexxx

I live in Kensington and love fashion. My best friends are Jenny (actress), Edie (saving the world) and Crow (genius designer - OMG). I narrate the Threads series by Sophia Bennett. Some people think I'm a figment of her imagination. I think she's a figment of mine.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

