Look good, be nice

Hmmm. I want to save the planet, help the world’s children and also look just a little bit … you know … fabulous. How do I do this, Nonie? Please tell me. (PS I already know every item in my local charity shop and will never, I promise, wear fur.)

Well, thank you for asking, blue non-fur-wearing person. Do you know about Toms Shoes? Did you know, for example (to quote their website):

In 2006, American traveler Blake Mycoskie befriended children in Argentina and found they had no shoes to protect their feet. Wanting to help, he created TOMS, a company that would match every pair of shoes purchased with a pair of new shoes given to a child in need. One for One. Blake returned to Argentina with a group of family, friends and staff later that year with 10,000 pairs of shoes made possible by TOMS customers.

Toms look like this:

If you buy a pair, this happens:

You can buy them all over the place – for example, here. So that’s your feet sorted.

On the jewellery front, there are street children in Uganda who make necklaces like this out of paper and glue:

        

Yes! Paper and glue. But you’d never know it. The beads are varnished and glowing and beautiful. They are sold for £5 to £12 each and the money enables the children to go to school. If you’d like to buy one, let me know by leaving a comment and I can put you in touch with someone who helps to sell them.

So that’s 2 ideas for this summer, blue non-fur-wearing person.

Thank you, Nonie!

You’re welcome. Any time.

About noniexxx

I live in Kensington and love fashion. My best friends are Jenny (actress), Edie (saving the world) and Crow (genius designer - OMG). I narrate the Threads series by Sophia Bennett. Some people think I'm a figment of her imagination. I think she's a figment of mine.
This entry was posted in Fashion. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Look good, be nice

  1. Holly says:

    wow! That’s amazing! I’m sooooo wearing TOMS for my wedding day, and asking for a pair for my Bday!

  2. That’s so lovely! Great to hear it! xxx

    • Holly says:

      thanks Sophia! Love your Books! I was just wondering if you would do another competition because I took part in the last one and had so much fun! thanks xXx

      ps, I just went on the TOMS website – how cute are the shoes?

  3. Holly says:

    Definately the best thing ever!
    It sounds really cheesy but I’d love to be like you one day *blush* becuse I’d love to write books for girls, be a designer (obviously you have talent at that – all the designs in your books are gorgeous), plus, make an good imprint on the world (you have done that because you have opened up the eyes of so many girls during the Threads series – I had no idea before reading your books, but now I know that terrible things are happening all over the world)! Thank you so much! xXx

    ps: I have read all of the Threads series but I haven’t read any of your other books, if there are any more. Have you written any more and if so please could you tell me what they are – I’d love to read them!?!

  4. Hi Holly. Thank you so much for all your lovely comments. I’m thrilled that the books have helped you learn about other things going on in the world, and thank you for telling me. I’ve written one book since the Threads series, but it’s not out until February, so I’m afraid you’ll have to wait until then to read it. It’s called The Look, so please look out for it then. xxx

  5. Laura Hughes says:

    Where can you buy tthe necklaces, I love the 2nd one along, its lovely!

  6. Holly says:

    I love that necklace too! Great minds think alike!😉 But I also love the colour of the middle one!

    And what! I have to wait to read THE LOOK? it sounds awesome, thanks for informing me Sophia – I’ll definately be reccomending to all my friends!

    Holly xXx

  7. Holly, (whoever u r!) My eyes have also been opened by the Threads series, as I have added a new charity page to my blog
    http://www.retrofashiondream.wordpress.com
    I am also teaching ppl the piano (I’m grade 7) and one third of that money goes to charity (or buying those AWESOME shoes!! the blog is fashion related so plz check it out!!

    sophia, can I write about this on my blog?? (wanted to check u don’t mind) xxxxxx

  8. oh and where can I buy that cool jewellery?? email me please!! it looks amazing!! xxxx

  9. Miranda says:

    Can you get the necklaces in the US? they’re so cute!!
    & I got my first pair of TOMS for my birthday at the beginning of June! I love them to death! [& they even have arch support so I can wear them when I’m at my job – – working at a little kiosk in the local mall!(:]
    please continue to write! and to publish your books in the US! I love them!!(:

    • Thank you so much, Randa! I’ll send you the email of the person who can tell you more about the necklaces. Meanwhile, I’ll picture you in your TOMS at the kiosk in the mall. In America … *sigh*

Leave a Reply

