Kate the Great

Here are the 10 things I love about the-woman-I-refuse-to-call-the-Duchess-of-Cambridge-because-it’s-such-a-boring-name-and-I-bet-she’s-never-even-been-there.

  1. She loves her new husband so much she can’t help smiling. She reminds us how fabulous it is to be in love with someone who makes you happy and loves you back. (And people who’ve read the books, I’m not talking Alexander here, as you probably know. Liam, on the other hand …)
  2. She clearly picked the right guy and makes him so happy  that he can’t help smiling too. (Compare the pictures of Charlotte Wittenstock and her new husband, Prince Albert of Monaco, who hardly glanced at her throughout their wedding ceremony, including when she cried. OH NO. It is SO not worth it just to wear an Armani dress)
  3. The hair
  4. She wrote into her wedding vows (and so did William) that they need to remember the important things in life: supporting each other and helping people who need it. Not Johnny Depp’s phone number. Although I’m sure she could have that too if she wanted.
  5. She’s not label-obsessed, and reuses and recycles her wardrobe. Nonie approves.
  6. She can talk to anyone, from the Canadian Prime Minister to little 6 year-old Diamond, and they all come away with a happy glow. This is her job now: to make a lot of people feel good, a lot of the time. She’s reached, like, advanced professional status in a week
  7. The way she makes the almost-impossible look very easy: such as being watched THE WHOLE TIME and always looking happy and relaxed. You try it at prize day. Also, she’s instantly invented her own unique, very recognisable style. I’ve been trying to do this for years and the furthest I’ve got is sequinned leggings and a bowler hat. For anyone who’s watched other people have a go (and I do it a LOT), this is mind-boggling. I have a fashion disaster every day before breakfast. She never has one. What kind of magic potion is she taking?
  8. The very complicated style conversation she’s been having over the last 2 months without saying a word in public (apart from ‘Really, really enjoyed it, thank you’). She knows good designers but isn’t too flash; she’s polite and flattering to the countries she visits (wearing Canadian Erdem and maple leaves in Canada); on the day of her husband’s late mother’s birthday, she picks a demure grey dress by one of Princess Diana’s favourite designers as a mark of respect; she isn’t bothered by the very-latest trends, but goes for what’s beautiful and makes her look good. She isn’t trying to wow the top fashion editors – she’s trying to wow the people she meets. She is the politest dresser I’ve ever come across.
  9. The sportiness. I’m super un-sporty and I’d rather sew a million sequins than play one game of football, but she kind of makes it look fun. And despite being so crazy-thin, she looks fit. Maybe sport’s not so bad after all.
  10. She comes from an ordinary background, but she’s so composed and organised that she makes it look as though the future King of England is lucky to have her. He seems to know this too.

Go Kate.

This was my favourite dress of her North American tour. I love the way you get a dress and a painting in one:

Just one problem: she’s apparently thinner than Kate Moss – and she’s taller. I have lots of friends who are naturally very thin. But I also have friends who’ve been to hospital because they just can’t eat enough to keep them going, even if they want to.

Kate would look just as good if she got some of her old curves back, and there would be more for William to hug next time he beat her at something sporty. I hope she doesn’t take control of her new life by starving herself and over-exercising. I know it’s tempting, but don’t do it, Kate! You’re a role model now. It’s your job for life. Please show us girls how to be powerful without practically disappearing. You make everything else look so easy, so I’m sure you can do this too.

love

Nonie xxx

About noniexxx

I live in Kensington and love fashion. My best friends are Jenny (actress), Edie (saving the world) and Crow (genius designer - OMG). I narrate the Threads series by Sophia Bennett. Some people think I'm a figment of her imagination. I think she's a figment of mine.
This entry was posted in Fashion. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kate the Great

  1. Jo Venkatesh says:

    hi!! love this post as lots of my family hate the Royals, but I love them!! Kate is amazing fashion wise -and probably has a nice personality!!
    I’m naturally skinny too, and I wish I had curves!!

  2. Hannah says:

    Completely true, Kate is in the public eye and has a lot of people looking up to her, so she should set a good example.
    Curves look great on tall people. She should totally rock that look. :]

Leave a Reply

